Central America links South America and North America.
Read in detail about the list of all countries and their capital, flag, currency and languages.
South America is the 4th largest continent in size and the 5th largest in people. It is situated largely in the southern hemisphere. It is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the east and the Pacific Ocean to the westArea – 6,890,000 square miles

Main Biomes – rainforest, savanna, grassland Major cities: Sao Paulo, Brazil Buenos Aires, Argentina Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Santiago, Chile Brasilia, Brazil Lima, Peru Bogota, Colombia Caracas, Venezuela Belo Horizonte, Brazil Medellin, Colombia

Nearby Water bodies – Pacific Ocean, Atlantic Ocean, Caribbean Sea South America

Major Rivers and Lakes – Amazon River, Lake Titicaca,  Strait of Magellan, Lake Maracaibo, Parana River, Orinoco River, Tocantins River

Major Geographical Features – Amazon Basin and Rainforest, Pampas plain, Patagonia, Guiana Highlands, Brazilian Highlands, Andes Mountains, Pantanal wetlands


The main stream of South America has a tropical climate.  It is dry tropical and tropical savanna in the north. It is moist subtropical in the southeast. Rain shower is altered reliant on the place. The Atacama Desert is unique of the thirstiest places in the world. The Amazon is very rainy. The Brazilian plateau obtains rainfall between 1000 and 2000 mm.  Temperatures container also be very problematic to read.  South America has a tropical, wet weather through hot temperatures and heavy rainfall.

Regions & Seasons

South America is not divided into regions.South America is located in the southern hemisphere. Those countries to the south of the continent have four distinct seasons.

Spring- September, October, November
Summer- December, January, February
Autumn – March, April, May
Winter- June, July, August

The countries in the north part of the continent consume extra endless high temperatures and high rainfall all over the year.

S.No Country Capital Currency Language
1 Argentina Buenos Aires Argentine Peso Spanish
2 Bolivia Sucre (official)
La Paz (seat of government)
Boliviano Spanish, Quecha, Aymara
3 Brazil Brasilia Rea Portuguese
4 Chile Santiago Chilean Peso Spanish
5 Colombia Bogota Peso Spanish
6 Ecuador Quito US-Dollar Spanish
7 Falkland Islands Stanley Falkland-Pound English
8 French Guiana Cayenne Euro French
9 Guyana Georgetown Guyanese Dolla English
10 Paraguay Asuncion Guaran Spanish, Guarani
11 Peru Lima Nuevo Sol Spanish, Quechua, Aymara
12 Suriname Paramaribo Surinamese Dollar Dutch
13 Uruguay Montevideo Uruguayan Peso Spanish
14 Venezuela Caracas Bolivar Spanish


Engage & make your kids learn through colorful worksheets.

Explore Yourself